Production stills


Finalist, New Breed Full Length Feature Category

SYNOPSIS Every night, Nana Lusing lies on her bed sleepless because she sees a dark figure looming in her room. Who is this shadow? Is this the devil? Her late husband? A manifestation of her anxieties? Or simply a figment of her imagination?

FILMMAKER’S PROFILE Mes de Guzmanhas won numerous Don Carlos Palanca awards for his scripts and Grand Prize from the NCCA for his first novel manuscript, “Rancho Dyanggo”. His 35mm short film “Batang Trapo” won the L’Etoile d’Or (Golden Star) Grand Prize for Short Film at the Festival International Du Film de Marrakech in Morocco; it also won Best Short Film at the Urian Awards, First Prize and Best Short Film for Children at the Gawad CCP for Film and Video and the Ishmael Bernal Award for Young Cinema, CineManila International Film Festival. His feature film, “The Road to Kalimugtong” won the Altadis New Director’s Prize, Special Mention at the 2006 San Sebastian International Film Festival; it also bagged two Best Picture prizes from the Golden Screen Awards and the Festival De Cine De Los Pueblos Del Sur in Venezuela, South America. Recently, his film entry “Sa Kanto ng Ulap at Lupa” to the 2011 Cinemaone Originals bagged the Lino Brocka prize and a Best Director award at the Cinemanila International Film Festival 2011.  Mes is an ‘’indie” filmmaker in the true sense, for he writes, directs, designs, edits, and produces his own films.


Cast:  Ama Quiambao as Nanang Lusing; Jose Escobedo as Ronaldo, Roeder Camañag as Alberto, Fredie De La Cruz as Fernando, Arnold Reyes as Ruben, Carlo Aquino as Oscar, Edelyn Escobedo as Ima, Althea Vega as Angela, John Paul Escobedo as Matias and Ronal Caranza as Jamba.  Production: Director/Writer-Mes De Guzman, Line Producer-Rhea Operaña-De Guzman; Associate Producer-Gay Ace Domingo; Asst. Director-Ronnie De Acal; Production Design-Cesar Hernando, Cinematography-Tristan Salas; Art Director-Eric Balthazar; Sound-Harold Buaron; Editing-Abbas Tabas/Ronnie De Acal; Asst. Editor-Jian Von Esmane; Wardrobe-Charmagne Vidallon; 2nd Unit Cinematography-Al Ocampo/Vircent Labrador; Gaffer-Randy Macadandang; Stills-Philipe Quintos/Raymond Manglo