The Cinemalaya Foundation is a non-stock, not for-profit, non-government foundation, committed to the development and promotion of Philippine independent film.

The Cinemalaya Foundation was established for the following purposes: to help develop and support the production of cinematic works of Filipino independent filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity; to discover, encourage, support, train and recognize gifted Filipino independent filmmakers; to promote Filipino independent films locally and internationally; to inspire Asian filmmakers by showcasing the Philippines as the cinematic center of creativity and free artistic expression; and to establish a network for exchange, communication, and cooperation among members of the independent film sector as we commit ourselves to the professionalization of film practitioners in the various aspects of film production through the Cinemalaya Institute.

The core project of the Cinemalaya is the annual Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition. It provides financial grants for the production of, at most, 10 full-length feature films which will then compete for the Best Full-Length Film award. The Cinemalaya competition also recognizes the work of filmmakers in the short film format.

The Cinemalaya Campus is an important component of the Festival, providing a venue for interaction and dialogue between filmmakers and audience members.

The Cinemalaya Foundation also aims to support other projects such as national outreach, seminars and workshops on production, marketing and distribution of independent films. It hopes to strengthen the presence of Filipino independent films in foreign festivals and competitions, encouraging Filipino filmmakers to enter and be part of the international film circuit.

Board Members

Antonio O. Cojuangco

Laurice Guillen

Nestor O. Jardin

Maan Hontiveros
Bienvenido Lumbera
Nicanor G. Tiongson
Antonio Samson
Arturo Hilado

Arturo Diago, Jr.

Organizing Committee

Antonio O. Cojuangco
Chris B. Millado
Laurice Guillen
Jose Javier Reyes
Teresa S. Rances
Arturo Diago, Jr.
Tess Alcuaz
Eva Mari DG Salvador
Mauro Ariel Yonzon
Gemma Marco
Mae U. Caralde
Vicky Belarmino
Minda Casagan

Competition and Monitoring Committee

Competition Chairman
Jose Javier Reyes

Competition and Monitoring Coordinator
Melissa Escueta

Competition Secretariat
Liza Ofianga

Main Competition Jury Coordinator
Victoria Isiderio

Festival Team

Festival Director
Chris Millado

Deputy Festival Director
Teresa Rances

Production & Exhibition
Ariel Yonzon

Cinemalaya Campus Director
Eva Mari Salvador

Festival PR Director
Michele Logarta

Festival & Sales Promotions
Gemma Marco

Associate Festival Programmer
Mae Caralde

Festival Coordinator
Victoria Belarmino

Associate Festival Coordinator
Luzviminda Casagan

Technical Coordinator
Rodel Valiente

Social Media Officer
Mei Dollesin

Technical Assistant
Alfred Nemenzo


Cinemalaya Collections Archivist
Dessa Matuguinas

Festival Assistants
Ethel Fe Abulencia
Reign Emmanuelle Geronimo
Donan Jay Sabado

Acquisitions Assistants
Eduardo Imperio
Gerome Sales